Indonesia Identifies 12 Geothermal Potential Areas in Sulawesi

November 2020

The Indonesian Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources (ESDM) has identified 12 geothermal potential areas in West Sulawesi. Currently, there are no geothermal working areas in the 12 areas.

They are Alu, Polewali Mandar Regency (25 MW); Ampalas, Mamuju City (28 MW); Doda, North Mamuju Regency (5 MW); Karema, Mamuju City (10 MW); Kona Kaiyangan, Mamuju City (10 MW); Lilli-Sepporaki, Polewali Mandar Regency (133 MW); Mamasa Regency (2 MW); Mambosa, Mamuju City (25 MW); Panusuan, Polewali Mandar Regency (5 MW); Riso Kalimbua (20 MW); Somba, Majene Regency (25 MW); and Tapalang, Mamuju City (30 MW).

The state-owned oil company PT Pertamina and its subsidiary PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy (PGE) are the dominant players in Indonesia’s geothermal energy development. Over the next five years, they plan to double the installed capacity of geothermal power plants in the country to 1,300 MW.

Currently, PGE is operating a total of 14 geothermal working areas, with a total installed capacity of 672 MW. They are PLTP Kamojang, West Java (235 MW); Lahendong, North Sulawesi (120 MW); Ulubelu, Lampung (220 MW); Sibayak, North Sumatra (12 MW); Karaha, West Java (30 MW); Lumut Balai, South Sumatra (55 MW). On top of these, PGE also has another 1,205 MW under a joint operation contract (JOC).

(Source: Think Geoenergy)

Our Services

Orissa International provides consulting services to companies that want to develop a market entry strategy for Southeast Asia or implement their business expansion into the region. We have very strong domain knowledge of markets and industry sectors, and a business network of over 16,000 distributors, resellers, and system integrators, built through advising and guiding more than 5,000 companies with their market expansion into Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam and the Philippines over the last 25 years.